belief: work hard for that money. and honor. and respect.

“SHE WORKS HARD FOR THE MONEY, SO HARD HONEY HONEY!!!”

So this is a tale about working hard…

I’ve danced since 2001 and done professional choreography since about 2005. In every job I’ve held or experience that I’ve had relating to dance, I work my ass off at it and give it my all. It’s just a part of my ethical makeup – if you want to be taken seriously at what you do, you’ve got to approach it seriously and provide quality. That can sometimes mean going above and beyond what is usually expected. As I count it as something immensely enjoyable, I’ve never really considered dancing or teaching real work, nor the “oh-my-god-not-this-again” feeling before approaching company rehearsal or walking into a studio full of students. Asking me to do something past what I normally would is never a problem, I often do it without being asked if it crosses my mind. All for the love and passion of satisfying my soul with developing my talents every day.

I’ve had this particular job for a while now, about as long as my professional choreography career, and have continually gone above and beyond to deliver what is expected of me and more, with nothing but a smile and a “thank you” in return. Count me satisfied. As a result of this, I’ve begun to climb the ladder of responsibility at the company and have received many opportunities to have my skills and work presented to the public, allowing my success to continue. Recently, a much younger colleague expressed a want to take on more responsibility.  They gave the fact that I was given too many projects to do and was taking opportunities from others who are on the come-up as a thinly veiled reason about why they wanted more. Yes, chile. Shade. For the trees honey. Shade paved with the best of intentions, but shade nonetheless.

I’ve no problem with this. You’re trying to get on my level. I work hard for this money baby! But for me to get here, it took work. Consistent work. Late night work. Non-paid work (sometimes…).  The amount of which my colleague hasn’t yet put in enough of. They’re well on their way, but not  there just yet. I’d just like to see them continue to plug away until what they want comes to them. Use that intention that you deserve just as much as I do to push you to do more. Even when you don’t want to. Especially when you don’t want to. It will likely be those times when you don’t feel like doing it, that your extra work will catch the attention of the powers-that-be, showing them that you are capable of handling more.

At the young age I am now, that is still my impetus to push above and beyond. I deserve to choreograph for world-renowned artists and companies. I deserve to dance in professional companies and to display my talents near and far. I deserve to be prosperous and to never really work a day in my life. But most of all, I deserve to push and work hard to get these things because many of the people before me did exactly the same.

with love. and respect.    b.

2 thoughts on “belief: work hard for that money. and honor. and respect.

  1. Meghan says:

    Very true, I believe there is a class that very few younger people can put themselves in, and that is a class of hard workers! I enjoy the work and usually love the outcome of some sweat and tears! It makes us who we become.

    • Indeed it does, Meghan. Gives us a bit of character and the feeling we’ve accomplished something. Once you’ve felt that, it’s hard to stop! 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

thoughts?

