choreo journal #5 – i can’t wait to see what’s next…

“IT SOUNDS LIKE A CULMINATION, A PEAK, A PINNACLE THAT I’VE REACHED, BUT IN REALITY, IT’S JUST THE BEGINNING.”

So before you hit that little button that says “Continue reading..”, watch this.

Now you can hit the button.

You see that video up there? Good, right?! It’s the teaser video for my Summer Series of choreography demos, aptly named “Bryan O’Shea Loves…” I kinda worked it into my first choreography demo, but recently decided I wanted to take it a bit further. You’ll hear more about it soon. Let’s talk about how that little video up there came to be.

As you know, I’ve been pretty excited about getting my choreography professionally filmed. I’ve had updates here and there and it’s was on my upcoming plans for the blog. Well, I did it. Starting about 2 months ago, I found dancers, hired them, held early morning and late night rehearsals, and a myriad of other things to prepare and About 2 weekends ago, packed everyone up into my vehicle and drove to Factory Studios, a soundstage for photo, film, and video in Brooklyn, NY. We had strict orders to arrive at 2:45pm, but got there a little early on account of my anxious driving at 80mph to make sure we made our call time. The stage location was smack dab in the middle of a neighborhood of Hasidic Jews, who are known for their austere fashion and conservative values. Contrary to that, one of my dancers wore a LOUD, tight, and low-cut tie dye dress and we had to walk 2 blocks to the location — needless to say, children pulled closer to their parents as we walked by.

When we arrived, we met Marc Levine, a friendly man who meant business when recording, but was quite amicable and seemed to love to talk shop when the camera wasn’t rolling. Within the first 5 minutes of meeting him, he told me he was a bit psychic and envisioned me exactly as I was before meeting him. We established a general rundown of the day as he set up and as my dancers prepped wardrobe, hair, and makeup. Within 20 minutes of arriving, we were shooting my first choreo demo!

Filming itself was a bare bones affair. We were only people present at the shoot, meaning someone (usually me) hit play on the iPod while Marc recorded and the dancers performed. I was quite glad this was the setup, it allowed my dancers a level of comfort they would not have had if Marc brought in his own people to help with the shoot. My assistant and one of the dancers took pictures and video, helped us keep time, and provided the dancers with paper towels to blot their faces in between takes (the soundstage was HOT as balls!!!). All in all, we filmed a sexy street jazz trio, a hip-hop flavored duet, a solo of myself performing my style (get ready for lots of arm work and some soft femme realness…), and a promo outside the studio (with little Jewish kids peeping out over their balconies) in a little less than 3 hours.

The experience itself was a blast! Everyone was so professional, helping us stay way ahead of schedule and leave time for plenty of takes, but there was an atmosphere of relaxation and fun; I couldn’t have asked for better people to work with. I’ll leave you with this: When asked during the shoot how I was doing, I could only explain that it felt like I was having an out-of-body experience. I was there, but at the same time I wasn’t; it was one long moment of great pleasure and gratitude that I’ve never felt before, as if this is what I have waited for for so long. It sounds like a culmination, a peak, a pinnacle that I’ve reached, but in reality, it’s just the beginning. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

with love. and respect. and gratitude. and a smiling heart. b

P.S. I’ve released pictures from the day along with the same video as above on my facebook page. The response has been overwhelming! If you’ve watched, liked, or shared anything that I’ve posted here or elsewhere, I give you a sincere thank you! Your support means the world to me!

thoughts?

