choreo demo: will.i.am, justin bieber, mindless behavior – power mashup (featuring hte dance staff)

camp dance grid

I was so excited last year when I was asked to choreograph HTE Dance’s annual Camp Dance, this year was no different. I’ve explained it before but I’m always super grateful to be asked to choreo something that will be showcased all summer. I again collaborated with my partner from last year’s dance, the lovely Carly Kingston, and with the help of other Senior Staff members, put our heads together to tackle this year’s performance. Last summer we used Adam Lambert’s hit “Pop That Lock”, but this year we wanted something with power and passion – a song to motivate the masses. The first song that came to mind was #ThatPower by will.i.am and Justin Bieber, but it debuted a week before our Staff Retreat and we KNEW it’d be everywhere in no time (and we were right). Thus started our quest to find a song to combine it with. We tried Rihanna, other will.i.am songs, Britney, but nothing fit. Our VP threw “All Around the World” by hip hop guy group Mindless Behavior. I won’t lie, I wasn’t feeling the song itself, it was a bit too teeny bopper for me, but at the VP’s insistence I went ahead, imported it in Audacity, added it some spinbacks, and extra song for a big end, and mashed it up. What resulted was magic…

This year’s Camp Dance was the feather in the cap of a really awesome summer for me. I love those people dancing in the video as much as I love life itself and I am constantly grateful that I’m able to spend my summers with them traveling from camp to camp and teach team after team and dancer after dancer. I’m getting toward the end of my time with the company, so I always get really nostalgic about it all. I’ve moved up the ranks from rookie staff member to seniormost staff member, accomplished nearly everything that I’ve wanted to within its ranks, and established so many professional and personal relationships, so I think I’ve earned the right to keep them close to my heart. 🙂

As always…share, post, tweet, tell friends…just get it out there if you liked what you saw! I appreciate it and I’m sure someone else will also!

thoughts?

